The Major Arcana of the Tarot: An Introduction


The major arcana, sometimes called trump cards, are considered the heart of the tarot. There are twenty-two cards that make up this part of the deck.

The major arcana cards are not associated with suits or courts like the rest of the tarot, but instead can be said to tell the tale of a hero's journey. The cards represent life and its cycles from birth to death, symbolizing the physical, spiritual, intellectual and emotional aspects of humankind and our relationship to the universe. Each card of the major arcana represents a different archetype. 

The artwork on the card faces of the major arcana are filled with symbolic elements. In many decks, including the Luna Sol Tarot, the cards feature the title and number of the card. In some decks, the major arcana only feature pictures. 

The symbolism of the major arcana also relates to our higher purpose for being on the planet. It tells of the journey in life, especially in relation to personal character development. The cards follow the fool's journey from birth to death, from innocence to wisdom, and ultimately to enlightenment. 

The cards of the major arcana represent aspects of the human experience that we all go through in our lives. They look at our spiritual selves, our hopes, our fears, and our joys and sadness. When you start to read tarot cards, you probably want to familiarize yourself with the major arcana first. When you get familiar with them, they can help unlock your intuition so you can interpret the rest of the cards in relation to them in a tarot spread.

Follow along in the coming weeks as we learn more about the tarot! You can get the Luna Sol Tarot deck in our shop.

Back to blog